Published on October 30th, 2017 by gavin

RESULTS: Wychavon Festival of Brass

Welsh bands top the Championship results while success also beckoned for Rode Hall Silver, Wem Jubilee, Haydock Band and Enderby.

Championship Section:
Adjudicator: Dr Robert Childs

1. Llwydcoed (Chris Turner) — 192
2. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter) — 190*
3. Medway (Mevin White) — 189
4. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Dewi Griffiths)
5. Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid)
6. Lanner & District (Andrew Berryman)
7. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
8. Enderby (Simon Gresswell)
9. Foresters Brass (John Davis)
10. Jackfield Elcock Reisen (Simon Platford)
11. Yorkshire Imperial DUT (Martin Heartfield)
12. Johnstone Silver (Martyn Ramsay)
13= Hatfield (Stan Lippeatt)
13= Langley (Cliff Parker)
15. Bedworth (David Maplestone)
16. BTM (Jeff Hutchinson)
17. Brunel Brass (Paul Collis-Smith)
18. Sandhurst Silver (Paul McLaughlin)

* Recieve invitation to 2018 British Open Spring Festival

Entertainment Prize: Enderby
Best Soloist: Tim Maeseneer (Horn) — Medway
Best Baritones: Ebbw Valley Brass
Best Percussion: Aveley & Newham
Winning Conductor Trophy: Chris Turner (Llwydcoed)

First Section:
Adjudicator: Tom Davoren

1. Enderby (Simon Gresswell) — 191
2. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray) — 190
3. Johnstone Silver (Martyn Ramsay) — 189
4. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter)
5. BTM (Jeff Hutchinson)
6. Langley (Cliff Parker)
7. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)
8. Crewe Brass (Jamie Meredith)
9. Crofton Silver (Dean Jones)
10. Foresters Brass (John Davis)
11. Oddfellows Brass (Rob Boulter)
12. Sandhurst Silver (Paul McLaughlin)

Entertainment Prize: Enderby
Best Soloist: Peter McDonough (Euphonium) — Eccles Borough
Best Baritones: Langley
Best Percussion: Sandhurst Silver
Winning Conductor Trophy: Simon Gresswell (Enderby)

Second Section:
Adjudicator: David Hirst

1. Haydock Band (Mark Quinn) — 190
2. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott) — 189
3. Crofton Silver (Dean Jones) — 187
4. Weston Brass (Bryn James)
5. Blaenavon Town (David Langley)
6. Ammanford Town (Glyn Jones)
7. Stourport on Severn (Oliver Wilson)
8. Crewe Brass (Jamie Meredith)
9. Avonbank (Richard Dickens)
10. Downton Brass (Paul Williams)

Entertainment Prize: Milton Keynes Brass
Best Soloist: Rob Perham (Flugel) — Weston Brass
Best Baritones: Milton Keynes Brass
Best Percussion: Weston Brass
Winning Conductor Trophy: Mark Quinn (Haydock)

Third Section:
Adjudicator: Anne Crookston

1. Wem Jubilee (Roger Thorne) — 192
2. Stourport on Severn (Oliver Wilson) — 191
3. Hawk Green (Neil Hewson) — 190
4. Arrow Valley (Andrew Culshaw)
5. Ynyshir (Gary Davies)
6. Porthywaen Silver (Dougie Graham)
7. Cinderford (Chris Howley)
8. Jubilee Brass (Oxford) (Clifford Sandler)
9. Crosskeys Silver (Mike Davies)
10. Oakdale Silver (Kerry Bowden)

Entertainment Prize: Hawk Green
Best Soloist: John Roberts (Euphonium) — Wem Jubilee
Best Baritones: Ynyshir
Tracey Sollis Cup: Noah Davies (aged 7) — Ynyshir
Dave Hodgetts Memorial Trophy: Jack Arrowsmith (kit percussion) — Porthywaen Silver
Winning Conductor Trophy: Roger Thorne (Wem Jubilee)

Fourth Section:
Adjudicator: Anne Crookston

1. Rode Hall Silver (Nigel Butler) — 188
2. Wem Jubilee (Roger Thorne) — 187
3. Ledbury Community Brass (Colin Herbert) — 186
4. Porthywaen Silver (Dougie Graham)
5. City of Wolverhampton (George Draycott)
6. Oakdale Silver (Kerry Bowden)

Entertainment Prize: Rode Hall Silver
Best Soloist: Tom Thorne (Xylophone) — Wem Jubilee
Best Baritones: Wem Jubilee
Best Percussion: Rode Hall
Winning Conductor Trophy: Nigel Butler (Rode Hall Silver)

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑