Published on January 28th, 2019 by gavin

RESULTS: Brass At The Guild

Championship Section:
Adjudicator: Sandy Smith

1. City of Bradford (Lee Skipsey)
2. Thoresby Colliery (Ian McElligott)
3. Strata Brass (Jonathan Bates)
4. Oldham (Lees) (John Collins)
5. Skelmanthorpe (Martin Heartfield)
6. Freckleton (John Pearson)
7. Foresters Brass (John Davis)
8. Johnstone (Lynda Nicholson)
W. Wardle Anderson Brass (Sean Conway)

Spring Festival invitation: Strata Brass
Best Soloist: George Newbould (cornet) — Thoresby Colliery
Best Basses: City of Bradford
Best Trombone: Elizabeth Pearce (Thoresby Colliery)
Best Euphonium: Jolyon Stead (City of Bradford)

First Section:
Adjudicator: Sandy Smith

1. Longridge (Mark Peacock)
2. Roberts Bakery (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
3. Hatfield &Askern Colliery (Stanley Lippeatt)
4. BTM (Jeff Hutcherson)
5. Haslingden & Helmshore (John Binns)
6. Mossley (Duncan Byers)
7. J36 Brass (TBA)
8. Ripon City (Mark Sidwell)
9. Flixton (Matthew Ryan)
10. Middleton (Kevin Gibbs)

Best Soloist: Gareth Nelson (euphonium) — Longridge
Best Soprano: Will Morley (Roberts Bakery)
Best Basses: Longridge

Second Section:
Adjudicator: Dave Lea

1. Poulton-le-Fylde (Alex Webb)
2. Delph (Jonathan Davies)
3. Blackpool Brass (Len Charnock)
4. BD1 Brass (Lee Skipsey)
5. Pemberton Old Wigan DW B (Mike Goulding)
6. Ireland Colliery Chesterfield (Lindon Bolt)
7. Hazel Grove (Nigel Beasley)

Best Soloist: BD1
Best Basses: Blackpool Brass
Best Horn: (flugel) — BD1

Third Section:
Adjudicator: Brian Rostron

1. Pilling Jubilee Silver (Steve Hartley)
2. Emley Brass (Garry Hallas)
3. City of Chester (Matthew Birkett)
4. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock)
5. Huddersfield & Ripponden Brass (Adam Bell)
6. Thornton Cleveleys (Stephen Craig)
7. Eccleston Brass (John Wood)
8. Lostock Hall Memorial (Joshua Hughes)

Best Soloist: Pilling Jubilee Silver
Best Percussion: Emley Brass
Best Horn: Pilling Silver Jubilee
Best Trombone: Emley Brass (bass trombone)
Best Basses: Emley Brass

Fourth Section:
Adjudicator: Brian Rostron

1. Skelmersdale Prize (Ben Coulson)
2. Rode Hall Silver (Nigel Butler)
3. Red Admiral Brass (Stuart Barton)
4. Brindle (Matthew Balson)
5. Stacksteads (Fred Bowker)
6. Dobcross Youth (Matt Hindle)

Best Soloist: Skelmersdale Prize
Best Euphonium: Skelmersdale Prize
Best Basses: Skelmersdale Prize
Youngest Player: Emma Naylor (Dobcross Youth)

The British Open Youth at the Guild Festival:
Adjudicators: Ryan Breen & Helen Varley

1. Elland Silver Youth (Samantha Harrison)
2. Youth Brass 2000 (Chris Jeans)
3. Macclesfield Youth (Louise Renshaw)
4. Red Admiral Youth (Daniel Brooks)
5. Oldham Music Centre Youth (Jonathan Leedale)
6. Enderby Youth Band (Trevor Hounsome)
7. Poynton Youth (Michael Eccles)
8. Houghton Area Youth (Brian Adams)

Best Soloist: Solo cornet (Red Admiral Youth)
Best Horn: Oldham Music Centre Youth
Youngest Player: Thomas Robinson (Red Admiral Youth) — aged 7

*full results courtesy of 4br

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑