Published on April 10th, 2019 by gavin

National Finals Test Pieces Revealed

The Test Pieces for the National Championships of Great Britain 2019 have been revealed.

Titan’s Progress – Hermann Pallhuber

Commissioned by Austria’s leading brass band, Brass Band Oberoesterreich, Titan’s Progress is a series of descriptive, virtuoso episodes based on the principal character of the novel by Jean Paul. This was also the original subject of Mahler’s Symphony No.1, from which Hermann Pallhuber derives much of his material. The work has proved an exceptionally popular test piece all over the world.Titan’s Progress was the selected test piece for the British Open Brass Band Championship, held at Symphony Hall, Birmingham on Saturday 12th September 2009.

£110.00 – Buy Now from the Brass Band Music Shop

Endeavour – Philip Sparke

Commissioned by the Festival of Bands, Brisbane 1988, for the Bicentennial World Brass Band Championship held there on 29th July.Endeavour takes its title from the name of the ship in which Captain James Cook circumnavigated the world and attempts to depict in music some aspects of the history of the great continent which he discovered.The Unknown Continent tells the story of the many fruitless voyages undertaken to find the mysterious Terra Australis and conjures up something of the awe and excitement its discovery engendered. Early struggles and hardships of the first settlers are described in The New Challenge but the true story of Australia over the last 200 years is one of success and Celebration ends the piece in triumph.

£59.95- Buy Now from the Brass Band Music Shop

Occasion – Edward Gregson

Occasion was published especially for the National Youth Brass Band Championship of Great Britain, held at the Royal Albert Hall, London, on 4th October, 1986.Occasion for Brass Band is in four movements: Fanfare, Festivities, Elegy and Dance. The opening Fanfare was originally written as a Wedding Fanfare for Paul and Hazel Patterson in 1981, while the Elegy and Dance were commissioned as a test-piece for the first Westsound/Ayrshire Invitation Contest in 1982 for the leading bands in Scotland. Festivities was therefore written last, to complete the work and give it its essentially ‘festive’ character. Except for the Elegy, which is contemplative, the music throughout is extrovert and joyful. The opeing Fanfare may be performed separately – of the Fanfare may be ledt out entirely, making the work a three movement Suite.

£64.95 – Buy Now from the Brass Band Music Shop

Viking Age – Thierry Deleruyelle

The Viking age lasted from the late eighth, to the middle of the eleventh century. During this period, Scandinavian warriors and merchants explored, plundered and left their mark on numerous territories. This work is based on a series of four notes that appear in different forms, consisting of 4 movements: Northern Men, Explorer, Raids and Heritage. It is an impressive and spectacular piece, with lots of interesting and playful parts for all sections. This is a perfect contest piece or an outstanding work for thematic concerts.

£80.00 – Buy Now from the Brass Band Music Shop 

Beecher Variations – Stephen Bulla

In this beautiful composition, melodic fragments of the hymn tune Beecher are morphed into a series of variations, showing the melody in various moods from expressive, then quiet and soft, to bright and triumphant in the end. Written as a test piece in the 4th division for the Dutch Brass Band Championships in 2015, the music features challenging solo parts for cornet, soprano cornet, flugelhorn and euphonium.

£80.00 – Buy Now from the Brass Band Music Shop

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑