Published on May 14th, 2019 by gavin

RESULTS: Welsh League Spring Festival 2019

The Welsh League Spring Festival took place on 11th May at the Willows High School in Cardiff. Full results below…

First Section:-
1. BTM (Jeff Hutcherson) Symphony of Marches (Vinter)
2. Pontardulais Town (Paul Jenkins) Of Distant Memories (Gregson)
3. Markham & District (Matt Rowe) Symphony of Marches (Vinter)
4. Abergavenny Borough (Sean O’Neill) Variations on Laudate Dominum (Gregson)

Best Instrumentalist: Principal Cornet, Pontardulais Town
Best Soprano: BTM

Second Section:-
1. Newport Borough (Robin Hackett) Rise of the Phoenix (Barry)
2. Mid Rhondda Thomas Coaches (Alan Gibbs) Royal Parks (Lloyd)
3. Crwbin (Andrew Jones) Symphonic Suite for Brass Band (Lucas)

Best Instrumentalist: Principal Cornet, Mid Rhondda Thomas Coaches
Best Trombone Section: Newport Borough

Third Section:-
1. Severn Tunnel (Gavin Clemons) The Day of the Lord (Ponsford)
2. Upper Rhondda (Graham Shepherd) Oregon (de Haan)
3. Taff Vale (Gareth Ritter) First Suite in Eb (Holst arr. Herbert)
4. RAF St Athan Voluntary (Alan Bourne) Triptych (Sparke)

Best Instrumentalist: Soprano, Severn Tunnel
Best Euphonium: Severn Tunnel
Fourth Section:-
1. Gwaun Cae Gurwen (Robert Burnett) Napoleon on the Alps (Harper)
2. Cwmtawe (Wayne Pedrick) Chorale & Variations (Lucas)

Best Instrumentalist: Cornet, Cwmtawe
Youngest Player: Sion Lloyd, Cwmtawe

Youth Section:-
Gold: BTM Learners (Lloyd Jones-Barnaby)
Silver: Blaen-Aber Youth (Lesley Taylor)
Silver: Ebbw Valley Academy (Bethan Cooke)

Best Instrumentalist: Solo Cornet, Ebbw Valley Academy
Best Percussion Section: BTM Learners
Youngest Player: Olivia Pritchard, Ebbw Valley Academy

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑