Published on May 8th, 2017 by gavin

Butlins 2018 Test Pieces Announced

The Butlins Mineworkers Open Festival committee have announced the set works that will put the bands through their paces early next year.

The championship section bands will have the option of picking from three set works.

Championship Section:
Contest Music (Wilfred Heaton)
The Year of the Dragon (Philip Sparke)
Concerto No 1 for Brass Band (Marcus Venables)

First Section: Renaissance (Peter Graham)

Second Section: Variations for Brass Band (Ralph Vaughan Williams)

Third Section: Overture to Henry V (Ralph Vaughan Williams)

Fourth Section: Second Suite in F (Gustav Holst)

All set pieces are available for purchase via the Brass Band Music Shop at

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑