Published on November 27th, 2017 by gavin

RESULTS: SWEBBA Contests & Welsh League

Last weekend saw the finale to the SWEBBA Contests and the champion bands for the year announced.

SEWBBA Autumn Festival Contest Results:-

Championship Section
Adjudicator: Paul Holland
Test Piece: Variations on a Ninth (Gilbert Vinter)

1. Tongwynlais Temperance (Ian Holmes)
2. Llwydcoed (Christopher Turner)
3. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter)
4. City Of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Nigel Seaman)
5. Tylorstown (Gary Davies)
6. Markham & District (Matt Rowe)

Best Instrumentalist: Matt Rowe, Euphonium (Tongwynlais)
Best Bass Section: Tongwynlais
Best Trombone: Nils Everett Richards (Tongwynlais)

First Section:
Adjudicator: Paul Holland
Test Piece: Spectrum (Gilbert Vinter)

1. AW Parker Drybrook (Joshua Ruck)
2. Lewis Merthyr (Craig Roberts)
3. Briton Ferry (Jeff Pearce)
4. BTM (Jeff Hutcherson)

Best Instrumentalist: Mandy Hamer, Euphonium (AW Parker Drybrook)

Second Section:
Adjudicator: Tom Davoren
Test Piece: Purcell Variations (Kenneth Downie)

1. Newport Borough (Robin Hackett)
2. Abertillery Town (Joshua Ruck)
3. Crwbin (Craig Roberts)
4. Bream Silver (Phil Turner)
5. Mid Rhondda (Thomas Coaches) (Alan Gibbs)
6. Penclawdd Brass (Tony Small)
7. RAF St Athan Voluntary (Alan Bourne)
8. Crosskeys (Mike Davies)
9. Melingriffith 2 (Andy Wareham)

Best Instrumentalist: Claire Bourne, Cornet (RAF St Athan)
Most Accomplished Trombone Section: (Penclawdd Brass)

Third Section:
Adjudicator: Paul Holland

1. Usk (Jeff Jones)
2. Severn Tunnel (Daniel Hall)
3. Upper Rhondda (Jayne Thomas)
4. Ynyshir (Gary Davies)

Best Instrumentalist: Jamie Jones Euphonium (Usk)
Best Horn Section: Usk
Youngest Player (Section Four & Three) Noah Davies Aged 7 (Ynyshir)

Fourth Section:
Adjudicator: Paul Holland

1. Gwaun Cae Gurwen (Jeff Hutcherson)
2. Oakdale Silver (Kerry Bowden)

Youth Section:
Adjudicator: Tom Davoren

GOLD. Melingriffith Youth (Carol Flannery Davies)
GOLD. Rhondda Fach Youth (Angela Westacott)
SILVER. Melingriffith Beginners (Becky Cale)
SILVER. BTM Learners (Lloyd Barnaby)

Best Instrumentalist: Noah Davies, Drum Kit (Rhondda Fach Youth)
Best Cornet: Katie Hill, Principal Cornet (Rhondda Fach Youth)
Best Percussion Section: Melingriffith Youth
Youngest Bass Player: Ned Falloon, aged 10 (BTM Learners)
Youngest Player: Gwenllian Williams, aged 6 (Melingriffith Beginners)

Welsh League Champion Bands: 

Championship Section 
Champion (Miners Gala Trophy): Lwwydcoed
Runner up (Tom Trotman Memorial Trophy): Ebbw Valley

First Section
Champion (Ruby Protheroe Memorial Trophy): Lewis Merthyr
Runner up (South Wales Miners Gala Trophy): Briton Ferry

Second Section 
Champion (T.J. Powell Trophy): Mid Rhondda / Newport
Runner up (Steve & Jeff Trotman Memorial): Crwbin

Third Section 
Champion (T.J. Powell Trophy): Upper Rhondda
Runner up (Mal Griffiths Memorial Trophy): Usk

Fourth Section  
Champion (T.J. Powell Trophy): Oakdale
Runner up (Nigel Jones Memorial Trophy): Gwaun Cae Gurwen

Conductor of the Year (Eric James Memorial Trophy): Chris Turner Llwydcoed

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑