Published on March 4th, 2019 by gavin

RESULTS: Yorkshire Regional Championships 2019

The qualifiers set to represent Yorkshire at the National Championships of Great Britain were chosen this weekend after a fantastic weekend of playing at all levels. A special mention must go to the retiring Yorkshire Regional Secretary, Peggy Tomlinson, who after years of dedication to her Yorkshire bands, has announced her retirement. Always a reassuring face at contests, she will be missed by countless bandsmen and women.

Full Results:

Championship Section:
Test Piece: Seascapes (Ray Steadman-Allen)
Adjudicators: Stephen Roberts and Steve Sykes

1. Brighouse & Rastrick (Dr David Thornton)**
2. Grimethorpe Colliery (Allan Withington)*
3. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Ian Porthouse)*
4. Rothwell Temperance (David Roberts)
5. City of Bradford (Lee Skipsey)
6. Black Dyke (Prof. Nicholas J Childs)**
7. Hepworth (Mark Bentham)
8. Elland Silver (Daniel Brooks)
9. Skelmanthorpe (Martin Heartfield)
10. Hammonds Saltaire (Morgan Griffiths)
11. Unite the Union (John Roberts)
12. Marsden Silver (Andrew Lofthouse)
13. Strata (Jonathan Bates)

*Qualify for the National Final
** Pre-qualify for National Final

Best Principal Cornet: Iain Culross (Grimethorpe Colliery)
Best Soloist: Chris Robertson (euphonium)  Brighouse & Rastrick
Best Instrumentalist: Zoe Lovatt-Cooper (flugel)  Black Dyke
Youngest Player: Lewis Barton (Elland Silver)

First Section:
Test Piece: Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter)
Adjudicators: Gary Davies and Howard J Evans

1. Hatfield & Askern Colliery (Stanley Lippeatt)*
2. Old Silkstone (John Hopkinson)*
3. Crofton Silver (Dean Jones)
4. Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel (Simon Gresswell)
5. Drighlington (Neil Robinson)
6. Lindley (Robert Westacott)
7. Stannington (Derek Renshaw)
8. Prospect Brass Skelmanthorpe (Duncan Beckley)
9. Hebden Bridge (David Hamilton)
10. Wakefield Metropolitan (Peter Kench)
11. Knottingley Silver (Kevin Belcher)

*Qualify for National Final

Best Soloist: Neil Wright (Eb tuba) Hatfield & Askern Colliery
Best Soprano: Sam Fisher (Crofton Silver)
Best Euphonium: Mick Tyler (Drighlington)
Youngest Player: Max Creese (Hebden Bridge)

Second Section:
Test Piece: Rise of the Phoenix (Darrol Barry)
Adjudicators: : Howard J Evans and Christopher Houlding

1. South Yorkshire Police (Leigh Baker)*
2. Chapeltown (Sam Fisher)*
3. Hade Edge (Jonathan Beatty)
4. Horbury Victoria (Duncan Beckley
5. BD1 Brass (Lee Skipsey)
6. Meltham & Meltham Mills (Tom Haslam)
7. Slaithwaite (Ryan Watkins)
8. Dronfield Genquip (Damian Wileman)
9. Barnsley Brass (William Rushworth)
10. Clifton & Lightcliffe (John Clay)
W. Worsbrough Brass (Dr. Alexander Parker)

*Qualify for National Final

Best Soloist: Andy Able (cornet ) South Yorkshire Police
Youngest Player: Ted Crosby (BD1 Brass)

Third Section:
Test Piece: First Suite in Eb (Gustav Holst arr. Sydney Herbert)
Adjudicators: Sheona Wade and Dr David Thornton

1. Kippax (Stephen Tighe)*
2. Wetherby Silver (Derek Wharley)*
3. Rockingham (Adam Whittle)
4. Dinnington (Lee Dunkley)
5. Emley (Garry Hallas)
6. Gawthorpe Brass 85 (John Edward)
7. Huddersfield & Ripponden (Adam Bell)
8. Lofthouse 2000 (Andrew Whitaker)
9. Oughtibridge (Gavin Somerset)
10. Armthorpe Elmfield (R. Kilcoyne)
11. Clifton & Lightcliffe B (John Clay)
12. Deepcar (Cathryn Rogers)

*Qualify for National Final
Best Soloist: Fay Thompson (soprano) Kippax
Youngest Player: Thomas Musgrave (Huddersfield & Ripponden)

Fourth Section:
Test Piece: Stantonbury Festival (Ray Steadman-Allen)
Adjudicators: Alan Duguid and Sandy Smith

1. Maltby Miners (Terry Clifford)*
2. Barnsley Metropolitan (Alex Francis)*
3. Garforth (John Thompson)
4. Dodworth Colliery M.W. (Eliot Darwin)
5. Linthwaite (Paul Kershaw)
6. Friendly Band (Sowerby Bridge) (James Beecham)
7. Loxley Silver (Richard Windle)
8. Thurcroft Welfare (Matthew Wright)

*Qualify for National Final

Best Soloist: Dave Chambers (euphonium) Maltby Miners
Best Percussion: Maltby Miners
Youngest Player: Sam Thompson (Garforth Brass)

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑