Published on May 9th, 2019 by gavin

99th Spring Festival Details Announced

The organisers of the 99th British Open Spring Festival have announced further details for the contests which will take place at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens on Saturday 18th May.

The Grand Shield will be the first event to go get under way in the Opera House at 10.00am, with the Senior Trophy starting in the Spanish Hall at 11.15am. The Senior Cup will commence in the Empress Ballroom at 11.45am.

The results ceremonies will take place in the Opera House at the conclusion of the Grand Shield.

The adjudicating team who will make the all important decisions comprises Ryan Breen, Garry Cutt, Dave Lea, Steve Sykes, Mark Wilkinson and Thomas Wyss.The pairings for each section will be announced on the day.

Tickets for the event can be purchased on the day or from Ticketmaster on 0844 856 11 11 at £12.00 and £8.00

The Grand Shield:
The Opera House
Test Piece: Fraternity (Thierry Deleruyelle)

First Prize: £800 and Grand Shield
Second Prize: £600
Third Prize: £400
Fourth Prize: £300

Draws: 9.00am & 12.50pm
Commence: 10.00am

Camborne Town (Kevin Mackenzie) (F)
City of Hull (Stig Maersk) (F)
cooperation Band (Michael Fowles) (S)
Filton Concert Brass (Tom Davoren) (F)
Friary Chris King) (S)
Hepworth (Dr David Thornton) (F)
Jaguar Land Rover (Brad Turnbull)  (S)
Milnrow (Dennis Hadfield) (F)
NASUWT Riverside (Professor Nicholas Childs) (S)
Oldham Band (Lees) (John Collins) (S)
Pemberton Old Wigan DW (Ben Dixon) (S)
Rainford (Gareth Brindle) (F)
Redbridge (Jeremy Wise) (S)
Reg Vardy (Russell Gray) (S)
Rothwell Temperance (David Roberts) (F)
Skelmanthorpe (Martin Heartfield) (S)
St Dennis (Darren R Hawken) (S)
The GUS Band (Chris Jeans) (F)
Thoresby Colliery (Ian McElligott) (F)
Woodfalls (Dr Robert Childs) (F)

The Senior Cup:
Empress Ballroom
Test Piece: Symphonic Music for Brass Band (Paul Huber)

First Prize: £600 and Belle Vue 100 Guinea Challenge Cup
Second Prize: £400
Third Prize: £300
Fourth Prize: £200

Draws: 10.45am & 1.30pm
Commence: 11.45am

Ashton-under-Lyne (Philip Chalk) (S)
Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid) (S)
Blackburn & Darwen (Daniel Thomas)  (F)
City of Cardiff (Mellingriffith) (Christopher Bond) (S)
Dalmellington (Nigel Boddice MBE) (F)
Derwent Brass  (Jack Capstaff)   (F)
Elland Silver (Daniel Brooks)  (F)
Goodwick Brass (Matthew Jenkins)  (F)
Hatfield  & Askern Colliery (Stanley Lippeatt) (F)
Jackfield (David Maplestone) (F)
Kingdom Brass (Ian Porthouse) (S)
Kirkintilloch (Leigh Baker) (S)
Llwydcoed (Chris Turner) (S)
Lydbrook (Glyn Williams) (F)
Newtongrange Silver (Andrew Duncan) (F)
Northop Silver (John Doyle) (F)
Ratby Co-operative (David Purkiss) (S)
Roche Brass (David Johnson) (S)
TCTC Group (Jef Sparkes) (S)
Wantage Silver (Paul Holland) (S)
Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel (Garry Hallis) (S)

The Senior Trophy:
Spanish Hall
Test Piece: Triumphant Rhapsody (Gilbert Vinter)

First Prize: £600 and Senior Trophy
Second Prize: £400
Third Prize: £300
Fourth Prize: £200

Draws: 10.15am & 1.10pm
Commence: 11.15am

Burry Port Town (Ceri John) (F)
City of Bradford (Lee Skipsey) (S)
Drighlington  (Neil Robinson) (S)
Easington Colliery (Jonathon Fenwick) (S)
East London Brass (Jayne Murrill) (F)
Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter) (F)
Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray) (F)
Laganvale (Metal Technology) (Kevin Anderson)
Marsden Silver (Andrew Lofthouse)
Roberts Bakery (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
Shepherd Group (Richard Wilton)
SPAL Sovereign Brass (Trevor Jones)
Staffordshire (Craig Williams)
Strata Brass (Jonathon Bates)
Tylorstown (Gary Davies)
Thundersley Brass (Melvin White)
Unison Kinneil (Raymond Tennant)
Unite the Union (John Davis)
Vernon Building Society Poynton (Ryan Watkins)
Verwood Concert Brass (Kevin Smith)

F: First half draw
S: Second half draw

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑