Published on June 21st, 2019 by gavin

RESULTS: West of England Bandsmen’s Festival 2019

Just one short shower during the day at the open air Festival did not marr the traditional march through the village, nor the competitive Sections on the Contest Field by the competing Bands at the West of England Bandsmen’s Festival at Bugle on Saturday 15th June.

The usual large audience gathered for the seven different Sections, which culminated in Camborne Town, conducted by David Hirst, winning the Royal Trophy, presented to the Festival in 1913 by the Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornwall, in the Championship Section. St Dennis followed closely in Second place with Roche Brass coming third.

Once again there were excellent Youth and Training Sections, with Adjudicator Glyn Williams praising the commitment and enthusiasm of the young players, as well as that of all the musicians on the day, particularly the Soloists.


Championship Section:

1. Camborne Town (David Hirst) — 196
2. St Dennis (Darren R Hawken) — 194
3. Roche Brass (David Johnson) — 193

The Lord Bless You and Keep You (Nik & Emma Pears arr. Paul Sharman)
1. Roche Brass (David Johnson) — 96
2. Camborne Town (David Hirst) — 95
3. St Austell Town (Derek Greenwood) — 94
Best Player Award: Tim Joslin (Eb Bass) — Camborne Town

First Section:

1. Forest of Dean Brass (Gareth Ritter) — 191
2. AW Parker (Drybrook) (Joshua Ruck) — 190

March: Unconquered (Arthur Gullidge)
1. Forest of Dean Brass (Gareth Ritter) — 94
2. AW Parker (Drybrook) (Joshua Ruck) — 92

Best Player Award: Jim Mason (soprano) — Forest of Dean Brass.

Second Section:

1. Wotton under Edge & District (Ian Dickinson) — 189
2. Bugle Silver (Steve Osborne) — 186.

Victors Acclaimed (Bramwell Coles)
1. Wotton under Edge & District (Ian Dickinson) — 92
2. Bugle Silver (Steve Osborne) — 88

Best Player Award: Bruce Davies (cornet) — Wotton under Edge & District

Third Section:

No entrants

Fourth Section:

1. Redruth Town (Andrew Craze) — 188
2. Lostwithiel Town (Barry Skinnery) — 185
3. Lanner Brass Academy (Lee Rouse) — 183

Best Player Award: Norman Pendray (cornet) — Lostwithiel Town

Youth Section:

1. St Austell Youth (Anna Minear) — 185
2. St Keverne Youth (Karl D Long) — 183

Best Player: Jason Wilton (horn) — St Austell Youth
Best Cornet: Sarah Wilton (St Austell Youth)

E J Williams Memorial Trophy to the Winning Conductor: Anna Minear

Training Section:

1. Soundhouse Brass Juniors (Gary Thompson) — 179
2. St Minver Training (Barbara George) — 178
3. St Dennis Training (Linda Trethewey) — 177

Training Section Awards:
Best Player: Lucy Evans (euphonium) — Soundhouse Brass Juniors
Best Cornet: Charlotte Blaikey (Soundhouse Brass Juniors)

Special Awards:
Best Soprano: Les Kneebone (Camborne Town)
Best Solo Cornet: Lee Wylde (Camborne Town)
Best Euphonium: John Hitchens (Camborne Town)
Best Solo Horn: Jo Scott (Camborne Town)
Best Basses: St Dennis

A R Trudgian Youth Awards:
Grace Denford (Bodmin Town) and Matthew Opie (Bodmin Town)

Deportment Class:

Adjudicator: Jonathan Lush-Camps LRSM
1. Bugle Silver
2. Okehampton Excelsior Silver

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑