Published on July 29th, 2020 by gavin


On Saturday 13th June, the National Association of Brass Band Conductors held their AGM. The meeting would normally be held ahead of the flagship Conducting Competition which sadly had to be cancelled this year due to Covid-19 restrictions and as such, the AGM also had to be held virtually on Zoom.

The main changes to the Executive Committee were the elections of John Clay to the position of Vice President, John Fricker as Vice Chairman and Rosie Banham from Brass Bands England as Membership Secretary.

Executive Committee

Chair – Mareika Gray
Vice Chairman – John Fricker
President – Russell Gray
Vice President – John Clay
Secretary – James Holt
Treasurer – Jane Clay
Membership Secretary – Rosie Banham (BBE)
PRO – Tom Hancock
Librarian – Ted Griffiths
Auditor – Ashley Ambler
Co-opted Members – Alex Parker (BBE) & Paul Holland

Regional Representatives (included in the Executive)

London & Southern Counties – Alan Duguid
Scotland – Stuart Black
Wales – Geraint Barnes
North of England – David Thornton
South West – Paul Holland
The Midlands – Tom Hancock

In addition, the constitution was updated to replace some of the more outdated aspects and make it more relevant to today’s times.

Chair Mareika Gray commented: “The loss of the conducting competition due to the Coronavirus is sad but we must look forward to the next one in 2021. I’m pleased our processes, particularly membership, are being streamlined through the partnership with Brass Bands England and I must give special thanks to Alex and Rosie for all their hard work”.

The NABBC will be announcing regional networking events for conductors once social gathering restrictions are eased further.

To join the NABBC (which includes membership of Brass Bands England), visit  Membership brings discounts on BBE events and training, insurance deals and free DBS checks, as well as access to BBE’s member resources.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑